Auto Insurance in Texas
While some people think you can drive without auto insurance in Texas, here at The Gray Group Insurance Brokerage, we know different. Texas is a state that requires all drivers to have auto insurance to operate their vehicles and there is a minimum amount of coverage your policy must meet. If you fail to have the proper insurance, you could face fines, jail time, and much more. Here in Texas, it is always better to abide by the law and have the state minimum coverage required.
Minimum Requirements for Auto Insurance in Texas
Basic coverage in Texas is referred to as 30/60/25 coverage. That means you must have at least the minimum amount of coverage for each category. Broken down, you must need at least $30,000 worth of liability coverage for each injured person in an accident, $60,000 worth of liability coverage per accident total, and $25,000 worth of liability coverage for property damage per accident to meet the state minimums. You must be able to show this coverage at any time as well.
Optional Coverage You Can Purchase
You can always opt for more coverage than the minimum required if you wish but you can also add additional types of coverage to better protect yourself. While you are required to have auto insurance, there are some people that don't which is why underinsured and uninsured motorist protection is a popular coverage. You can also opt for gap coverage, personal injury protection, and even medical payments coverage. You must meet minimum requirements but the better protected you are, the safer you will be while driving on the road.
If you are interested in learning more about auto insurance, getting a free quote, or taking a look at your current policy to ensure it meets the state requirements and has no gaps in coverage, be sure to contact us today at The Gray Group Insurance Brokerage serving all of Texas.